Skip to Main Content

Fugitive Task Force


Camden County Sheriff’s Office/US Marshal’s Office


Several members of the Camden County Sheriff’s Office Detective Bureau were sworn in last week by the United States Marshal of the Western District of Missouri as members of a fugitive task force.  The detectives were sworn in during a ceremony at the U.S. Court House in Jefferson City on January 22, 2013. 

 The Southern Missouri Fugitive Task Force consists of state and local police officers and sheriff’s deputies who receive special deputations with the U.S. Marshals. 

 Nationwide, seventy-five local task forces are dedicated to violent crime reduction by locating and apprehending wanted criminals. They also serve as the central point for agencies to share information on fugitive matters.  While on the task force, these officers can exercise U.S. Marshals authorities, such as being able to cross jurisdictional lines.

 Other area agencies are expected to participate in the task force as well.