Concealed Carry Weapons
How do I get my concealed carry permit?
Applicants must be at least 19 years of age and meet the eligibility requirements as specified by Section 571.101 RSMo. and complete training requirements as stated in Section 571.111 RSMo.
Applicants can apply by presenting their firearms safety training certificate, a positive picture I.D., proof of current address, complete set of fingerprints and a non-refundable fee.
Applicants who are not a Natural Born Citizen of the United States or its territories will need to provide proof of U.S. citizenship. The following items are accepted as such proof.
- Previously issued, current, undamaged U.S. Passport
- Certified birth certificate issued by the city, county or state
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad or Certification of Birth
- Naturalization Certificate
- Certificate of Citizenship
Where can I get the training certificate needed for concealed carry?
There are a number of private vendors who are offering this training in the area. They can be located by advertisement in the media or contact with the shooting organizations in the area. The Camden County Sheriff's Office also offers a CCW course - call Chief Deputy Jimmy Brashear at 573-836-1242 for further information and to register for the course.
Where can I apply for my permit?
Applicants from Camden County must first call Serina at (573) 346-2243 ex. 1299 to schedule an appointment in order to begin the application and fingerprint process after you have obtained your certificate of qualification from a licensed Missouri certified instructor.
How much does a permit cost?
The Camden County fee for application for a CCW permit is $30.00, exact cash or check made payable to "CCSD Revolving Fund".
The fingerprint fee is $27.25, check or money order only payable to "MSHP Criminal Records".
Do other states recognize a Missouri CCW permit?
Yes, a number of other states recognize Missouri CCW permits.
For a viewing of states that accept Missouri's endorsement you may visit the Missouri Attorney General's Office Web site.
Are there places in Missouri I can't carry a concealed firearm after I get my permit?
There are a number of places specifically named in the law in which concealed firearms are prohibited.
Missouri Statute 571.107 specifically lists locations and under what circumstances that concealed carry is prohibited. 571.107 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C500-599/5710000107.HTM.
Do I have to get a CCW permit if I only want to carry a concealed firearm in my car?
No. A citizen age 21 or older may carry a concealable firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle, as long as such concealable firearm is lawfully possessed.
I took a firearms safety course a number of years ago. Can I use that certificate to apply for a CCW permit without taking a new course?
With the exception of firearms instructor or certification training, no personal firearms safety training offered prior to the passage of this law will be accepted. Firearms safety courses for application purposes must meet specific requirements by law and must be held after 09/11/03 to be acceptable.
How long will it take to get my CCW permit?
That can vary, depending on the time it takes to complete the background check. However, a certificate will be issued or denied within forty-five (45) calendar days from the date of application.
How long is my concealed carry permit valid?
The concealed carry certificate is good for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance.
Do I have to carry my conceal carry permit with me when I have a concealed firearm?
Yes. Any person issued a concealed carry permit shall carry it at all times and shall display the permit upon the request of any peace officer.
Where can I find all of the Missouri Statutes that pertain to Concealed Carry and other weapons offenses?
The entire Missouri Revised Statute chapter 571 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C571.HTM. Section 571.101 RSMo. covers concealed carry endorsements, application requirements-approval procedures-issuance of certificates, when-record-keeping requirements-fees.
Where do I go to get my CCW renewed?
As long as all of your information is current on your CCW Endorsement, your renewal with the Camden County Sheriff's Office is a simple one. A report is generated every month by Camden County to determine whose permits are up for renewal and pending background check for the previous five (5) years. We will attempt to notify the applicant of the upcoming expiration of their permit to make an appointment to renew their conceal carry permit. There is a Fifty Dollars ($50.00) renewal fee and can be paid by exact amount of cash, check or money order made payable to "CCSO Revolving Fund".
If the permit is expired more than six months, the permit is canceled, and the applicant must apply for an entirely new permit.
If your information is not current, you need to contact the agency that issued the permit.